This work is supported by the Australian Government through the Australian Solar Institute (ASI), part of the Clean Energy Initiative. The authors would like to thank David Swift (AEMO), Michael Lyons (AEMO), Chris Stewart (AEMO), Michael Redpath (AEMO) and Mark Amos (ENA) for their support and contributions to the project, and look forward to a continuing partnership.

The authors would also like to thank the following people and their organisations for their support of the work carried out in this report:

Desert Knowledge Australia Solar Centre (DKASC)

  • Ga Rick Lee
  • Lyndon Frearson

The University of Queensland

  • Paul Meredith
  • Craig Froome

Enquiries should be addressed to:

Saad Sayeef (

Copyright and Disclaimer

© 2012 CSIRO To the extent permitted by law, all rights are reserved and no part of this publication covered by copyright may be reproduced or copied in any form or by any means except with the written permission of CSIRO.

Important Disclaimer

CSIRO advises that the information contained in this publication comprises general statements based on scientific research. The reader is advised and needs to be aware that such information may be incomplete or unable to be used in any specific situation. No reliance or actions must therefore be made on that information without seeking prior expert professional, scientific and technical advice. To the extent permitted by law, CSIRO (including its employees and consultants) excludes all liability to any person for any consequences, including but not limited to all losses, damages, costs, expenses and any other compensation, arising directly or indirectly from using this publication (in part or in whole) and any information or material contained in it. The views expressed herein are not necessarily the views of the Australian Government, and the Australian Government does not accept responsibility for any information or advice contained herein.