Board and Committees

The Institute’s Constitution defines its function and provides a set of principles and procedures to govern its conduct. The Constitution outlines the rights of Members, sets out procedures for considering Membership applications and for holding Members’ Meetings, details the procedures for selecting the Institute’s Board of Directors, and sets out the rules around meetings of the Board and its Committees.

As a global, not-for-profit organisation, the Institute and its Board are committed to appropriate corporate governance. The Board acts in accordance with the Australian Corporations Act and the corporate governance principles contained therein.

Role and structure of the Board

The role of the Board is established by the Institute’s Board Charter. This role includes:

  • overseeing the Company, including its control and accountability systems;
  • monitoring and ensuring compliance with legal and regulatory requirements and ethical standards and policies;
  • monitoring and ensuring compliance with best practice corporate governance requirements; and
  • approving and ensuring compliance with the Institute’s aim, objectives and values, and providing strategic direction for the development, execution and modification of the Institute’s strategy.

Board members including the Chair are independent, non-executive Directors. There are five Directors:

  • Russell Higgins AO (Chair);
  • Dr Makoto Akai;
  • Tina McMeckan;
  • Rachel English; and
  • Dr Mario Ruscev.

Biographies for each Board member are provided on page 28.

The Board formally delegates responsibility for the Institute’s day-to-day operations and administration to the CEO and the Leadership Team. Profiles of the Institute’s Leadership Team are provided on page 30.

Board committees

The Institute has four committees reporting to the Board.

International Advisory Panel (IAP)

The IAP provides strategic guidance and advice to the Board, and its members act as ambassadors for the organisation. The IAP also provide experience in corporate building, strategic engagement, international liaison and government policy. Members of the IAP are:

  • Claude Mandil (Chair);
  • Russell Higgins AO;
  • Prof Zeng Rongshu;
  • Dr Leena Srivastava; and
  • Lord Nicholas Stern of Brentford, Kt, FBA.
Technical Advisory Committee (TAC)

The TAC provides specialist technical advice on CCS-related issues, technologies, proposals and projects, extending across the full range of CCS project development activities and disciplines. Members of the TAC bring a high degree of technical expertise to the role. Members of the TAC are:

  • Dr Makoto Akai (Chair);
  • Carl Bauer;
  • Jamie Carstairs;
  • John Gale;
  • Nick Otter OBE;
  • Sandeep Sharma; and
  • Kai Tullius.
Audit and Risk Committee (ARC)

The ARC assists the Board in its oversight of material business risk and in maintaining and improving the effectiveness of compliance strategies, internal and external audit functions, and the quality and credibility of financial accounting processes. Members of the ARC are:

  • Tina McMeckan (Chair);
  • Russell Higgins AO; and
  • Roger Amos.
Board Selection Panel (BSP)

The role of the BSP is to nominate candidates for appointment as Directors. Each year two members of the BSP are required to retire. In 2012, David White representing the Institute’s Major Industry Members, and Drew Clarke representing Government Members were due to retire. The Institute’s Constitution allows BSP Members to serve a second term and both Drew Clarke and David White advised of their availability to do so.

As of 20 July 2012 (the closing date for nominations) the Institute had not received any additional nominations in either Member category. Therefore Drew Clarke and David White were automatically elected to the BSP for a second consecutive term. Members of the BSP are:

  • Milton Catelin;
  • Drew Clarke;
  • Dr Carmen Dybwad;
  • Russell Higgins AO;
  • Joan MacNaughton;
  • Tone Skogen; and
  • David White.

“The insights and learning we have been given by the Institute from other projects around the world has been valuable in progressing the South West Hub project.”

Dominique van Gent, Co-ordinator Carbon Strategy, Government of Western Australia